Kitchen works & Garden Update


This morning, I had a few chores that had to be done before I could go outside.  I  dug up Valerian root yesterday and wanted to get it cleaned and tinctured.  After a lot of soaking and rinsing, it was ready to be cut, crushed and set into grain alcohol.  Valerian is a great herb, one of the few sedative herbs that is actually nutritive for the body.   In rare cases it can cause excitability but I find it to be a good sleep aid. That may come in handy as I’ll be helping my Dad move out of my childhood home very soon and possibly in with me.   Valerian has a bad smell, sort of a sweet, decaying scent.  The whole house smelled of it, kind of disgusting.

Next was kombucha.  The batch I made 10 days ago was ready to drink and a new brew started.  I grew my first scoby from a store bought bottle of GT kombucha  almost a year ago.  Since then, I’ve accumulated a lot of scobies  and compost them in the garden.

Elephant garlic needed separating before being planted.  These came from a local farmer that I met last weekend at our annual garlic festival.

Once outside, I started some fall cleanup in the garden.  I picked a couple of things and then began prepping the garlic patch.  Suddenly, the sky got dark and rain came pouring down.  ugh

9 thoughts on “Kitchen works & Garden Update

    • Thanks. Things can seem overwhelming at times. Somehow we manage, in spite of ourselves.
      After I posted this my cousin texted me to say she read it and had no idea what I was writing about, lol. She lives in Florida. Here, kombucha is sold in lots of our grocery stores. Ronald Reagan drank it regularly for stomach problems. I think everyone will be seeing a lot more of it as a result of the probiotic craze.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

