Super Garden Soup


Mottled tomatoes,  giant zucchini, tough celery, sprouting garlic , overgrown green beans, kale riddled with holes, woody carrots……all part of the gardners’ harvest this time of year and  just the ingredients needed to make a vitamin packed , super soup puree.  We all know by now the terrific health benefits of juicing raw vegetables but in this  smoothie frenzy,  the benefits of cooked vegetables tends to be overlooked.  Lots of viable nutrients are released  and more easily digested  and absorbed  when some vegetables are cooked, particularly  tomatoes, carrots and the cruciferous vegetables.  I aim for balance  and implement raw, fermented and cooked vegetables in my family’s diet.   There’s always some of this soup in my freezer or on the stove.
I make this soup all year round but right now I use up those perfectly good, though unsightly, vegetables from my garden.  I chop them up, put them in a stock pot, cover them with water and cook them until the vegetables are soft.  Substituting the water with chicken or beef stock adds even more nutrients if you are a meat eater.  Herbs go into the mix as well.  Echinacea leaves, parsley, thyme, oregano…whatever you have. Once everything has cooled down, puree everything in a blender, vita-mix or food processor.

This is delicious on its own with little sea salt.  It is more delicious with sea salt and butter added.   Most delicious if you stir in some cream.  Another nice combination to add  and transform this soup is tumeric, sea salt and cumin.   Add a dollop of sour cream, yogurt or kefir.  If you make meatloaf ,meatballs or enchiladas, add this soup to your ingredients and amp up the nutrients! If you have any comments or suggestions, I’d love to hear them.

This post is  shared with The Homestead Barn Hop

9 thoughts on “Super Garden Soup

  1. Cynthia,
    I think this post is such an eye- opener for people of today. I know, I always tend to think that everything I put into soup has to be picture perfect. You have reminded us that soup was invented to put nutritional food on the table using remnants and every last bit of food. Thank you for a great post.

    Liked by 2 people

    • That is such an interesting perspective, Ginene. I had a retail store for 9 years and was often amazed that people were dazzled by the packaging, rather than the actual contents. Thank you for stopping by and making such a thoughtful comment!

      Like

  2. Hi Cynthia, thanks for following my posts. I have been reading some of yours and am delighted by what I find. This soup you are describing is one of my staple foods here especially during the winter months. It’s the only way also that I get vegetables into my partner. I’ve learnt a few extras from you today, suggestions about adding Kefir, cream or yogurt is a great idea, never tried it, will do so now.
    I do add Ginger and Turmeric to give extra ant-inflammatory properties.

    Like

    • I was delighted by yours also! Ginger is a great idea., I will try it. Sometimes I add burdock root and dandelions too. Now I’m in the process of making things with my dried herbs, you are too probably! We will be getting frost any time here now, sad to see this gardening season end.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

