Natural Dog … (treat recipe too )

Flora

Flora

We always had dogs in our family. We fed them good quality dog food, took them to the vet for their shots and all was well. Then we got Flora.
She was 4 months old and 8 pounds when we brought her home. I took her to the vet, got her boosters and the recommended topical drops to ward off fleas and tics and a vaccination for Lyme disease. A few months later, I was back at the vet. She had severe itching, ‘hot spots’, wasn’t gaining weight, was lethargic and had fleas. She tested positive for Lyme disease, in spite of the vaccination and drops. We treated that with antibiotics but I was back again within a couple months. Intense itching, dry inflamed skin, ear infection and a lot of ‘hot spots’. More antibiotics, topical ear wash,steroids and antihistamines.  Reoccurring  diarrhea and constant itching was a problem.  Finally, back again with a severe skin abcess, again treated with antibiotics  and steroids.   They also prescribed antihistamines every day, indefinitely.  I wasn’t comfortable with all the medications and my little dog wasn’t responding well. I decided to try another approach. I did a lot of research. I found, “Natural Health for Dogs & Cats” by Dr. Pitcairn. I began making her food with organic ingredients. I made her treats. I gave her a morning snack of my kefir. No topical or oral meds. It took about 6 months but the improvement was amazing. After a year, there was no itching, no sores, no ear infections. Her skin wasn’t dry and her coat was soft and silky. 2  years later, I am still making her food and snacks and she is thriving! She weighs 11 pounds. No fleas either:). I’d much rather go to the trouble of making her food than watch her suffer. The added expense is not an issue either, those vet bills came to over $1000!  The point of this story wasn’t to be negative about allopathic veterinary care.  For many years and other animals, we had no problems and our organic food and lifestyle choices didn’t extend to our pets.  Now it does .

Here is a recipe for dog treats. It makes 8 dozen cookies. It is a modified version of a recipe included in Dr. Pitcairn’s book.

Homemade, organic dog treats

Homemade, organic dog treats

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 cups brown rice flour
  • 1/2 cup oat bran
  • 1/4 cup corn meal
  • 1 Tbsp. lecithin granules
  • 1 Tbsp. brewers yeast (optional)
  • 1tsp. sea salt
  • 2 Tbsp coconut or olive oil
  • 1/4 cup unsulphured molasses
  • 3 eggs (eggshells too)
  • 1/4 cup chicken broth

The first thing I do is set my oven to 300 degrees.  I crack the eggs and put them in a bowl.  I wash my eggshells and put them in the oven for 10 minutes. Bring oven temperature up to 350 degrees.  Cool them off and then grind them into powder.  A mortar and pestle works great for this.  They add a nice boost of calcium carbonate to the treats.

Add molasses, salt, oil to the eggs. Mix well. Combine rice flour, oat bran, cornmeal, lecithin and brewer’s yeast, if desired, in separate bowl. Add egg mixture to dry ingredients. Add chicken broth. Mix well. Add your powdered eggshells, mix, and if needed, add more chicken broth. The batter should be a soft, cookie dough consistency. Drop by teaspoonful onto cookie sheets greased with olive oil. Bake 10 minutes

image

 

2 thoughts on “Natural Dog … (treat recipe too )

    • Lol!! Dr. Pitcairn’s recipe used regular whole wheat flour for these biscuits, that makes it easier. My cousin said she wanted to make these but had no idea what half the ingredients were. I think I might be spending a little too much time in health food stores:)

      Like

Leave a Reply

