Cucumber Inspiration!

As I was coming in from the garden this morning, with another basket of cucumbers, I stopped to check  in on the garlic that I am drying.  My garlic sure doesn’t look like all the gorgeous pictures I see.  It is definitely good enough to eat though and I got the idea of making a Tzatziki .  It is so delicious with kabobs or on sandwiches, or even on its own with fresh vegetables.  I also decided to make a couple more quarts of cultured pickles.  (instructions on previous post).   I have fresh kefir (yogurt would work too) in the refrigerator so I’ll put a couple cups of that through a strainer and use the whey for my pickles and the rest for a tzatziki dip.  Healthy, natural, probiotic, antibiotic, herbal goodness all in one….and delicious too.

Tzatziki

Tzatziki

Tzatziki

  • 1 1/2 cups strained kefir or yogurt
  • 1 cucumber, finely chopped
  • 1 Tbsp olive oil
  • 1 Tbsp chopped mint
  • 1 Tbsp chopped dill
  • 1 Tbsp fresh lemon juice
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt

* If you want a more refined dip, seed and peel the cucumber.  I don’t  like to waste any of it so I just use it whole.   No need to strain the yogurt or kefir, I just wanted the whey to make my pickles.

Since I have  so many cucumbers and this nice lemon and fresh herbs, may as well mix up a pitcher of  ‘detox’ or ‘weight  loss’ water that I’ve been seeing all over Pinterest.  That’s easy enough, a few slices of lemon, cucumber, fresh mint… I used pineapple mint, water.  While I’m at it, I’m going to add some Lemon Balm, Echinacea petals and Borage flowers.       Looks nice!  Refreshing!  What a fun morning.

Infused water

This post was shared with Natural Living Monday and Kelly the Kitchen Kop’s  Real Food Wednesdays

4 thoughts on “Cucumber Inspiration!

Leave a Reply

